Different Sources of Indian Constitution

The skeleton of the constitution was derived from the Government of India Act 1935, though many provisions were imported from other constitutions of the world. Out of 395 Articles of the Constitution of India the text of almost 250 Articles are taken from Govt, of India Act, 1935 directly or with some modifications. Some of them are listed below along with the Government of India Act, 1935:

Government of India Act, 1935: This Act formed the basic premise or the basis or 'blueprint' of the constitution of India with the features of Federal system, office of Governor emergency powers etc. Besides, the Constitution of India has borrowed from the—

Constitution of Britain: Law making procedures, Rule of law, Single citizenship, Bi-cameral Parliamentary system office of CAG.

Constitution of USA: Independence of judiciary, judicial review, fundamental rights, removal of Supreme Court and High Court judges, Preamble and functions of President and Vice-president.

Constitution of Canada: Federation with strong Centre, to provide residuary powers to the Centre, Supreme Court's advisory jurisdiction.

Constitution of Ireland: Directive Principles of State policy, method of presidential elections and the nomination of members to Rajya Sabha by the President.

Weimar Constitution of Germany: Provisions concerning the suspension of fundamental rights during emergency.

Constitution of Australia: Idea of the Concurrent List, Trade and Commerce provisions.

Constitution of South Africa: Amendment with 2/3rdmajority in Parliament and election of the Members of Rajya Sabha on the basis of proportional representation.

Constitution of France: Republican System, Principles of Liberty, Equality and Fraternity.

Constitution of former USSR: Fundamental Duties, Ideals of justice in Preamble.

More Related Articles

Introduction - Indian polity & Constitution

The term Political Science is intimately related to the word "Politics".  Which itself is derived from the Greek word - "Polis" - that means a city-state, the general f

examguru by ExamGuru

Evolution of Indian Constitution

Our Constitution: Our present constitution—the first Constitution of India framed and given to themselves by the people of India was adopted by the Constituent Assembly on 26 November, 19

examguru by ExamGuru

Constituent Assembly and Making of the Constitution

The Cabinet Mission envisaged the establishment of a Constituent Assembly to frame a Constitution for the country. Members of the Constituent Assembly were elected by the Provincial Legislative

examguru by ExamGuru

Important Parts, Articles of the Constitution

Parts & Articles of Indian Constitution Part Articles Subject Part I Article 1-4 The Union and

examguru by ExamGuru

Schedules of Indian Constitution

The Constitution of India at the time of its adoption had only eight Schedules to which four more were added during the succeeding sixty-five years. Schedule Subjec

examguru by ExamGuru

Special Features of Indian Constitution / Federal & Unitary

The Constitution of India is the lengthiest and the most comprehensive of all the written constitutions of the world. Originally the Constitution of India consisted of 395 Articles divided into 2

examguru by ExamGuru

The Preamble

The Preamble to the Constitution states the object which the Constitution seeks to establish and promote, and also aids the legal interpretation of the Constitution where the language is found ambi

examguru by ExamGuru

Lapse of Paramountcy

When the Indian Independence Act 1947 was passed, it declared the lapse of suzerainty (paramountcy) of the crown in sec. 7(i)(b) of the Act. As from the appointed day-the suzerainty of His Majest

examguru by ExamGuru

Integration and Merger of Indian States

Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel and V.P. Menon played the most important role in the integration and merger of Indian States. The main objective of shaping the Indian States into sizeable or viable adm

examguru by ExamGuru

The Union and its Territories

Article 1 lays-down that India, i.e. Bharat, shall be a Union of States. The Territory of India shall consist of  the Territories of the States, 2 the Union Territories specified in the First

examguru by ExamGuru


anil kumar
Akshay kuamr
geeta kumari