Introduction - Indian polity & Constitution

  • The term Political Science is intimately related to the word "Politics".  Which itself is derived from the Greek word - "Polis" - that means a city-state, the general form of political organization in ancient Greece. The Sophists (the wandering teachers of wisdom) particularly Protagoras and Georgias in Athens were the first to expound a political theory. Later on Socrates, Plato and Aristotle continued to conduct the scientific study of the various problems concerning the state and the government.
  • Aristotle, the world-famous Greek philosopher, however, exelled his teacher - Plato and his teacher's teacher - Socrates. Now Aristotle is regarded as the father of the science of Politics in the west, whileManu is considered to be the first political thinker of India. His famous book "Manusmriti" is regarded as the first book of law in India.
  • Later on it was Kautilya (Chanakya) who formed and formulated thinking and gave it a concrete form in the shape of a book named "Arthashastra", a well-known book of Indian Polity.
  • In his famous book, "Politics", Aristotle has asserted: "Man is by nature a political animal and he, who by nature and not by mere accident is without state, is either above humanity or below it."

Republic of India

  • INDIA, a union of states, is a Sovereign Socialist Secular Democratic Republic with a parliamentary system of government. The Republic is governed in terms of the Constitution, which was adopted by Constituent Assembly on November 26, 1949 and came into force on January 26,1950.
  • The Constitution which envisages parliamentary form of government is federal in structure with unitary features. The President of India is the constitutional head of executive of the union.
  • Article 74(1) of the Constitution provides that there shall be a Council of Ministers with the Prime Minister as its head to aid and advise the President who shall in exercise of his functions, act in accordance with such advice. The real executive power thus vests in the Council of Ministers with the Prime Minister as its head.
  • The Council of Ministers is collectively responsible to the House of the People (Lok Sabha). Similarly, in states, the Governor is the head of executive, but it is the Council of Ministers with the Chief Minister as its head in whom real executive power vests.
  • The Council of Ministers of a state is collectively responsible to the Legislative Assembly of the state. The Constitution distributes legislative power between Parliament and State Legislatures and provides for vesting of residual powers in Parliament. The power to amend the Constitution also vests in Parliament.
  • The Constitution has provision for independence of judiciary, Comptroller and Auditor-General, Public Service Commissions and Chief Election Commission.

Government of India



Country Name

Republic of India; Bharat Ganrajya

Government  Type

Sovereign Socialist Secular Democratic Republic with a Parliamentary system of Government.


New Delhi

Administrative Divisions

28 States and 8 Union Territories.


15th August 1947, (From the British Colonial Rule)


The Constitution of India came into force on 26th January, 1950.

Legal System

The Constitution of India is the fountain source of the legal system in the Country.

Executive  Branch

The President of India is the Head of the State, while the Prime Minister is the Head of the Government, and runs office with the support of the Council of Ministers who form the Cabinet Ministry.

Legislative  Branch

The Indian Legislature comprises of the Lok Sabha (House of the People) and the Rajya Sabha (Council of States) forming both the Houses of the Parliament.

Judicial Branch

The Supreme Court of India is the apex body of the Indian legal system, followed by other High Courts and subordinate Courts.

Flag  Description

The National Flag is a horizontal tricolour of deep saffron (kesaria) at the top, white in the middle, and dark green at the bottom in equal proportion. At the centre of the white band is a navy blue wheel, which is a representation of the Ashoka Chakra at Samath.

National Days

26th January (Republic Day), 15th August (Independence Day),2nd ' October (Gandhi Jayanti; Mahatma Gandhi s Birthday)

[Source: India.]


Constitution is the foundational law of a country which ordains the fundamental principles on which the government (or the governance) of that country is based. It lays down the framework and principal functions of various organs of the government as well as the modalities of interaction between the government and its citizens. With the exception of the United Kingdom (U.K.), almost all democratic countries possess a written constitution. India also possesses an elaborate written constitution which was enacted by a constituent assembly specifically set up for the purpose.

More Related Articles

Evolution of Indian Constitution

Our Constitution: Our present constitution—the first Constitution of India framed and given to themselves by the people of India was adopted by the Constituent Assembly on 26 November, 19

examguru by ExamGuru

Constituent Assembly and Making of the Constitution

The Cabinet Mission envisaged the establishment of a Constituent Assembly to frame a Constitution for the country. Members of the Constituent Assembly were elected by the Provincial Legislative

examguru by ExamGuru

Different Sources of Indian Constitution

The skeleton of the constitution was derived from the Government of India Act 1935, though many provisions were imported from other constitutions of the world. Out of 395 Articles of the Constitution

examguru by ExamGuru

Important Parts, Articles of the Constitution

Parts & Articles of Indian Constitution Part Articles Subject Part I Article 1-4 The Union and

examguru by ExamGuru

Schedules of Indian Constitution

The Constitution of India at the time of its adoption had only eight Schedules to which four more were added during the succeeding sixty-five years. Schedule Subjec

examguru by ExamGuru

Special Features of Indian Constitution / Federal & Unitary

The Constitution of India is the lengthiest and the most comprehensive of all the written constitutions of the world. Originally the Constitution of India consisted of 395 Articles divided into 2

examguru by ExamGuru

The Preamble

The Preamble to the Constitution states the object which the Constitution seeks to establish and promote, and also aids the legal interpretation of the Constitution where the language is found ambi

examguru by ExamGuru

Lapse of Paramountcy

When the Indian Independence Act 1947 was passed, it declared the lapse of suzerainty (paramountcy) of the crown in sec. 7(i)(b) of the Act. As from the appointed day-the suzerainty of His Majest

examguru by ExamGuru

Integration and Merger of Indian States

Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel and V.P. Menon played the most important role in the integration and merger of Indian States. The main objective of shaping the Indian States into sizeable or viable adm

examguru by ExamGuru

The Union and its Territories

Article 1 lays-down that India, i.e. Bharat, shall be a Union of States. The Territory of India shall consist of  the Territories of the States, 2 the Union Territories specified in the First

examguru by ExamGuru


anil kumar
Akshay kuamr
geeta kumari